PFAS: Managing an Unknown Future with Lessons from the Past – Live Tomorrow

December 17, 2019

Live Webinar – December 18, 2019
2 pm ET, 1 pm CT, Noon MT, 11 a.m. PT

PFAS is the hot topic of the day, and we are confused and anxious. But we have been here before. In the 1980s, we found chlorinated solvents in water supplies across the country. “Parts per billion” was the new state of the art, and we didn’t know how to clean them up. Love Canal became synonymous with environmental disaster and sparked the Superfund program. John Travolta was an attorney in a movie about trichloroethylene! We spent billions of dollars under Superfund and analogous State programs, contaminated and formerly contaminated land was unmarketable, and water supplies were tainted. Huge remediation systems were built based on poorly understood mathematical models. Most, by one estimate 80 percent, of the money went to attorneys. Maybe that’s why Travolta didn’t play a geologist or municipal engineer.

We don’t need to make those mistakes again.

Daniel Sola, PG of SCS Engineers

Join Forester University for this live webinar next Wednesday, December 18, at 11 a.m. PST / 2 p.m. EST as speaker Dan Sola, Project Director at SCS Engineers, encourages you to take a deep breath regarding PFAS and walks you through what we know, what we don’t know, and where we are likely heading.

Dan will review the basics and examine successful remediation and risk reduction cases, look back at some past approaches and learn from those mistakes, and talk about how to critically evaluate all the technological ‘magic bullets’ that will inevitably emerge.

Sola’s goal is for you to leave the session with a deeper understanding of what these chemicals are, how they exist in the environment, what we know about cleaning them up, and how to think about a fiscally responsible management strategy in an environment of fast-changing regulations. We don’t know everything, but we have been here before, and the bottom line is: the sky is not falling.

Register now, and complete this course to earn a 1 PDH / 0.1 CEU certificate Enroll In This Course

 

Can’t attend the live webinar? No worries, we have you covered! All of our live sessions are recorded and available for on-demand viewing at any time. Contact learning@forester.net for group pricing rates.

 

 

 

 

 

Posted by Diane Samuels at 6:00 am
SCS Address

Corporate Headquarters

3900 Kilroy Airport Way Ste 100
Long Beach, CA 90806-6816

Telephone

1 (800) 767-4727
1 (562) 427-0805 | FAX
service@scsengineers.com

Required Posting